chocoavocadopie2

Crazy, I know!

I just started dipping my feet in to the art of vegan baking. The bakery I work for has a small selection of gluten-free and vegan desserts so I’m using a lot of butter, cream, and eggs on a daily basis. While at home, I’m trying to work in healthy alternatives to the sweets that I adore.

avochocopiesmini1

Since baking is my career of choice it should come to no surprise that I have a wicked sweet tooth! It’s also no surprise to those who know me that I am an avocado fiend. So, combining the two only seems natural. I know there’s a ton of chocolate avocado pudding recipes floating around now. It took me this long just to try it, and I have no idea why! Now that I’ve gotten my taste for something truly amazing (and healthy!) I feel I must share it with the rest of you!


Ingredie
nts: 

Crust:

  • 1/2 Cup Pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 Cup Rolled Oats (certified gluten-free)
  • 1/4 Cup Coconut Flakes
  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil, melted
  • 2 Tbsp Maple Syrup

Filling:

  • 2 Medium sized ripe avocados
  • 2 Cups coconut milk (canned or refrigerated)
  • 1/2 – 3/4 Cup Maple syrup, depending how sweet you like it
  • 1/4 Cup dark cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Directions:

For crust:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Combine pecans, rolled oats, and coconut flakes in a food processor and pulse until resembling a course meal (about 30 seconds).
  3. Add melted coconut oil and maple syrup and blend again until combined.
  4. For mini pies, spray a mini muffin tin with nonstick spray. Divide pie crust evenly and press down each pie crust lightly to form a packed crust.  *
  5. Bake for 10 minutes or until crust starts to turn golden brown.

For the filling:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth and creamy.
  2. Once pie crusts are cooled, remove from pan using a spoon.
  3. Place pie crusts onto mini muffin liners or serving dish, whichever you prefer. **
  4. Pipe pudding mixture onto pie crusts. About 1 Tbsp per pie crust.
  5. Top with coconut flakes, chopped nuts, cocoa nibs, sprinkles, whatever you like!
* For a full pie crust, spray an 8 inch pie pan with non-stick spray. Pour pie crust into pan and spread out to an even layer, pressing down crust to form a packed crust. Bake for 10- 12 minutes or until golden brown.

** For full pie, spoon out pudding mixture onto cooled pie crust and smooth out. Garnish with nuts, or coconut shavings. Or top with your favorite vegan cream topping!

